Live in a city with lousy IT, go to jail

Well, stay in jail, anyway.

Computer virus shuts down Houston municipal courts | Houston & Texas News | Chron.com – Houston Chronicle

Mayoral spokesman Patrick Trahan said people in jail would be able to make bail, but several bondsmen contacted by the Houston Chronicle were under the impression that no one could be released until Tuesday.
[…]

Christian Navarrette, an art teacher, left his job early to get down to the courthouse to pay a speeding ticket. He said he was turned away when he tried to pay the ticket, which is due by Monday.

“They told me if I pay it now, it may not post by Monday because of the computer problem,” he said. “They told that I could face more fines if I pay it today, or I can just come back to pay it Monday. I guess I’ll have to leave work early Monday, too.”

Pretty much every other jurisdiction I know of has a rule that says they bear the cost of major negligence. I guess Texas is different.

Leave a Reply

