A company that I thought would have been able to do better

I got my spouse some fleece-lined jeans for christmas (we have to return them because the cut doesn’t fit her) and darned if LL Bean didn’t sign me up for their “newsletter” spam even though I unchecked the box on the order form that’s thoughtfully designed to sign you up without asking.

The email newsletter has an unsubscribe link, and I followed it, so I should be OK. But while I was at their web site, I thought I might let the company know that their email practices had lost them future business:

I just unsubscribed from your email newsletter. The thing is, I’m pretty sure I never subscribed in the first place. I always uncheck boxes offering to sign me up for email newsletters when I order something. Finding myself “subscribed” willy-nilly makes it a fair certainty that I won’t buy anything from LL Bean in the near future

And here’s the reply:

Thank you for your email. In order to locate you in our file we need your full name and address including zip code and we will be happy to comply with your request.

My request is that they not spam their customers. And to do that, they just have to make a corporate decision to behave decently.

Leave a Reply

